Towns.—Towns may be incorporated on conditions prescribed by the Ontario Railway and Municipal Board, but must have not less than 2,000 population. A town in unorganized territory is governed by a mayor and six councillors, or if the population is not less than 5,000, by a mayor and nine councillors. A town not in unorganized territory is governed by a mayor, a reeve, as many deputy reeves as the town is entitled to have as its representatives in the county council, and three councillors for each ward where there are less than five wards, or two councillors for each ward where there are five or more wards. Towns having not less than 5,000 population may, by by-law approved by the electors, withdraw from the jurisdiction of the county council.

**Cities.**—Cities, which are always entirely separate in government from their counties, must have, when constituted, a population of 15,000. They are governed by a mayor, a Board of Control if such exists, and, at the option of the council, two or three aldermen for each ward. Boards of Control, who may be elected by general vote in any city of more than 45,000 people and must be so elected in cities of over 100,000, form a sort of executive authority for the larger cities giving a large portion of their time to the public service, and being paid a salary considerably higher than the alderman's indemnity. The duties of the Board of Control include the preparation of estimates, the awarding of contracts, the inspection of municipal works, and the nomination of officers and their dismissal or suspension. The Board reports to the council, in which its members also have a vote, and its action is subject to approval or reversal by the whole council. The council may not make appropriations or expenditures of sums not provided for by the Board's estimates, without a two-thirds vote of the members present.

**Counties.**—All members of county councils are also members of the councils of the municipalities within the larger county municipality, being the reeves and deputy reeves of townships, villages and towns. The presiding officer of the county council is called the warden, and is annually chosen from among the reeves who are members of the council. The county council has charge of the main highways and bridges, the courthouse, gaol, house of refuge, registry office, etc. Its rates are collected through the constituent local municipalities. Provisions for the erection of one kind of urban municipality into another are given in the Municipal Act.

Judiciary.-Under the Law Reform Act of 1909 (9 Edw. VII, c. 28), the Supreme Court of Ontario is established in two divisions, the appellate division and the high court division, the former being a continuation of the old court of appeal and the latter a continuation of the old high court of justice. The appellate division is composed of not less than two divisional courts, each with five justices, who try appeals from the high court and the other courts of the province, and from whose decision appeals may in certain cases be made to the Supreme Court of Canada. The justices of the High Court hold assizes at least twice a year in each county, with a very comprehensive jurisdiction. In each county or district there is a court presided over by a judge, who sits at least twice a year, with or without a jury, to try minor civil actions. Each county judge also presides at least twice yearly over a court of general session, with a limited jurisdiction in criminal matters. Criminals may, with their own consent, be tried by the county judge without a jury. Each judicial district is divided into court divisions in each of which a division court is held by the county judge, or his deputy, at least once in every two months. These courts are for the recovery of small debts and damages. The county judges hold revision courts for the revision of assessment rolls and of voters' lists; they are also judges of the surrogate courts, which deal with the estates of deceased persons.